Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



[Photos] Rwanda rolls out red carpet for African leaders arriving for AU Summit

[Photos] Rwanda rolls out red carpet for African leaders arriving for AU Summit


The twenty seventh (27th) Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the Heads of State and Government of the African Union (AU) is set to take place between Sunday 17 and Monday 18 July 2016.

Leaders from across the continent are streaming into the Rwandan capital, Kigali; and as expected the red carpet has been out since Friday for the arrivals as host president Paul Kagame and H.E. Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, outgoing Chairperson of the AU; sit to discuss critical issues concerning the continent.

Among others President Mugabe of Zimbabwe, John Dramani Mahama of Ghana, Idris Deby Itno of Chad, Kenya’s Uhuru Kenyatta, President Filipe Myusi of Mozambique, Uganda’s Yoweri Museveni and Ivory Coast’s Allasane Ouattara.

AU Nguema Eq Guinea

Equatorial Guinea president Teodoro Obiang Nguema

AU Zuma SA

President Jacob Zuma of South Africa

AU CAR Touadera

Central Africa Republic’s Faustin Archange Touadera

AU Sirleaf Liberia

Liberia’s Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

AU Ghana JDM

Ghana’s President John Dramani Mahama

AU Mugabe Zimbabwe

President Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe

AU Namibia Geingob

President Hage Geingob of Namibia

AU Deby Chad

Chadian President Idris Deby Itno

AU Kenya Kenyatta

President Uhuru Kenyatta and his wife arrive for the summit

AU Issoufou Niger

President Mahamadou Issoufo Niger

AU Keita Mali

President Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta of #Mali

AU Senegal Sall

President Macky Sall of Senegal

AU Uganda Museveni

President Yoweri Museveni of Uganda

AU Somalia Mahmoud

Somalia’s President Hassan Sheikh Mohamoud

AU Libya Veep

Vice President Mossa Elkony of Libya

AU Egypt Al Sisi

President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi of Egypt

AU Algeria PM

Algeria Prime Minister Prime Minister Abdelmalek Sellal

AU Ouattara Ivory Coast

President Alassane Ouattara of Côte d’Ivoire

AU Nigeria Osinbajo

Prof Yemi Osinbajo, vice president of Nigeria represents President Buhari

AU Ethiopia Habre

Ethiopia’s Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn

AU Burkina Kabore

Burkina Faso Roch Marc Kabore

Also in attendance will be H.E. Mr. Erastus Mwencha, Deputy Chairperson of the AU Commissioner and the eight AU Commissioners.

Africa Passport Launch and election of new AU Chair

During the Summit, the African Union (AU) is expected to launch the AU passport, a flagship project of Africa’s Agenda 2063 with the view to facilitate free movement of persons, goods and services around the continent.

The move is primarily to foster intra-Africa trade, integration and socio-economic development.

A new chairperson will also be elected against the backdrop that the incumbent Dr. Dlamini Zuma has earlier disclosed that she would not be seeking a second term in office. It is believed that she would be returning to play a role in South African politics.