Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Burkina Faso: New faces form Kabore's government

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso’s newly-elected President Roch Marc Kabore Wednesday named a cabinet full of persons who had previously not come near leading the country.

Of the 30-team cabinet, seven are women.

In a surprising twist, Kabore completely departed from the norm of rehashing old faces by naming an entirely different set of people.

Kabore, the third civilian president the West African country has had since independence in 1960, kept the defence and veterans’ affairs portfolio for himself as was the case during his predecessor Blaise Compaore’s era.

The appointments come less than a week after the president named economist Paul Kaba Thieba as prime minister.

Ex-mayor of the capital, Ouagadougou, was appointed head of territorial administration with Rosine Coulibaly, being made head of the ministry of economy, finance and development.

Kabore compensated Tahirou Barry, who came third in the presidential election with the Ministry of Culture and Tourism portfolio.

Despite increasing unemployment, Kabore has indicated he is poised to fight back towards economic recovery.

Find below president Kabore’s new government

Minister of territorial administration and internal security, Simon Compaoré

Minister of foreign affairs and Burkinabes abroad, Alpha Barry

Minister of Justice, human rights, civic education and keeper of the seals, René Bagoro

Minister of the economy, finance and development, Alizatou Rosine Coulibaly neé Sori

Minister of the Public Service, Labour and social security, Pengwindé Clément Sawadogo

Minister of higher education, scientific research and innovation, Filiga Michel Sawadogo

Minister of national education and literacy, Jean Martin Coulibaly

Minister of health, Smaila Ouedarogo

Minister of agriculture and hydraulic engineering, Jacob Ouédraogo

Minister of water and sanitation, Niouga Ambroise Ouédraogo

Minister of infrastructure, Eric Wendmanegda

Minister of energy, mines and quarries, Alpha Omar Dissa

Minister of transport, urban mobility and road safety, Souleymene Soulama

Minister of commerce, industries and crafts, Stéphane Sanou

Minister of animal resources and hydraulic, Somanogo Koutou

Minister of digital economy development and postal services, Aminata Sana née Congo

Minister of youth, training and professional evolution, Jean Claude Bouda

Minister of women affairs, national solidarity and the family, Laure Zongo neé Hien

Minister of communication and relations with parliament, Rémis Fulgance Dandjinou

Minister of urban development and housing, Maurice Dieudonné Bonanet

Minister of the environment, green Economy and climate change, Batio Bassiere

Minister of Culture, Tahirou Barry

Minister of sports and leisure, Tairou Bangré

Minister delegate at the Ministry of the economy, finance and development in charge of the budget, Edith Clémence Yaka

Minister delegate at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, co-operation with Burkinabes in the diaspora in charge of regional co-operation and Burkinabes abroad, Agnetekoum née Bogore

Secretary of State to the Minister of women affairs, national solidarity and the family in charge of social affairs , the physcially challenged and the fight against social exclusion, Yvette Dembélé

Secretary of state to the Minister of economy, finance and development in charge of territorial development, Pauline Zouré

Secretary of State to the Minister of State, Minister of territorial administration, decentralisation and national security in charge of decentralisation ,Alfred Gouba

Secretary of State to the Minister of higher education, scientific research and innovation , in charge of scientific research and innovation, Urbain Kouldiati

View more